Change Text Size: A | A | A
National Mobility Awareness Month Partners:
VMI

17,930
Votes

Deanna Meeks

Gruetli-Laager, TN

Entry Photo for Deanna Meeks - Gruetli-Laager, TN

I’m 25 years old. I was born with a birth defect known as Spina Bifida. As a result of my disability, I use a manual wheelchair permanently. I am a very independent person. My total independence has been put on hold because I do not have a vehicle of my own. I graduated from college in December of 2013 with a degree in Psychology. Living close to Nashville, I am involved in the music business. I help musicians in their effort to achieve their goals. My passion is the music business. Music Management is what I want to do as my career. I am unable to be successful because I do not have my own transportation. I have to depend on my parents to take me where I need to go such as doctor appointments, the grocery store, etc. My parents help me as much as they can, but they are getting older and I realize that I cannot always depend on them being around to help me. It’s difficult for me to get together with friends and go places because they do not have vehicles that can accommodate my wheelchair.
I was blessed with wonderful parents that taught me to not focus on my disability or what I could not do, but instead focus on what I can do. I am for the most part, a very positive person. I’m able to deal with the medical side of my disability. What bothers me the most is not being able to be totally independent because of one tiny thing like a vehicle, that most people take for granted. As with most things in the medical field, a wheelchair accessible vehicle is more expensive and unfortunately I am unable to financially provide it for myself.
I truly believe that a wheelchair accessible van is exactly what I need to start my life totally independent. I will also be able to help other people more once I have my own way of transportation. I will be able to take care of my parents, socialize with friends, and help musicians. I can go to the gigs of the musicians that I help with friends and be a “normal” 25 year old.